Skip to content

I promised an update…

April 13, 2011

Been a while since I last updated.  My fingers finally feel well enough to do more than a few lines of type.  Unfortunately, I do have my first joint nodule.  It is slightly painful to the touch, but harder to deal with is the thought and looking at it, seeing it there.  And knowing not only is it not the last one I’ll have, but that it will be there forever.  For those who might not know, I was diagnosed in Oct. 2008 with Rheumatoid Arthritis.  Sero-negative RA to be exact.   I made a bracelet last week for the first time since November.  And I learned I cannot do a whole piece in one night.

But I shall cope, as I always do.

This is the bracelet I made last week:

A close up of the glass and beads:

The black matte beads are made from lava.  I thought that was pretty cool, considering we usually think of the beach glass as being hundreds of years old sometimes.  Unfortunately the package did not say where the lava came from!  The other larger black bead has tiny flecks of iridescent white, silver and blue.  I love those beads!  Of course the rest of it has several Swarovsky Crystals, cat’s eye beads and other glass beads.

Since that’s the only piece of jewelry I’ve made in a while, a few photos of the glass as I find it and after its been cleaned up at home…

I love the frosty-ness of pure white.

Small piece of china or pottery with just a hint of the original pattern.

This is the second bottle bottom I’ve found with an “M” on it.  This was only about 3/4 of the bottom, and also had a small “2” under the M which the first one does not.  They were also found within a few weeks of each other.  I just found, via a seaglass site I follow, a website that has definitions of the markings on old bottles.   Still have to look it up.

A pretty, green piece.  Upside down in this photo, as I found it, with a deep “g”.  Another one to research!

This has to be my new favorite piece.  It’s a beautiful, deep turquoise, very thick, wonderfully frosted and rounded.  Definitely a keeper.

Hopefully I’ll be able to keep this up much better in the future.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Vickie Young permalink
    April 14, 2011 7:38 am

    So sorry to hear of your RA difficulties. Any disease can overwhelm us at times, but I am sure your spirit will find a way to bring you through. Your works are beautiful, as well the simple finds (when you can get out) that you share via photos. I can appreciate your efforts and your spirit. Your posts are a treat whenever they come via my subscription. I wish you better health and more days to enjoy that which pleases you.

Leave a Reply

