Skip to content

no beach for me in a while

November 11, 2010

I think I’ve only been to the beach once since September.  That’s pretty sad for me.  But with a major RA flare up, it just wasn’t happening.  The desire is there, but the body isn’t.  I’m on a new med now, an injectable, so hopefully soon I’ll at least be able to get one or two days in before it gets covered in snow.

I have made some new things, actually, quite a lot of few things if I look back at old posts.  Bracelets, of which I’ve sold four offline, made one for my daughter, made a necklace for myself.  So at least I can say I accomplished something.

I’ve also gotten a little bit of Christmas shopping done, go me.

I’m hoping this Saturday (if I can fill up the gas tank!) to go to a place that might be interested in selling my stuff on consignment.  I have to call the manager tomorrow to see if/when she’ll be in.

But here are some of the items I’ve made:

Did I ever show this?  Quite a lot of work in this.  I’ve priced it on Etsy at $75.  A lot of glass and tons of seed beads went into this. I call it “Night at the Opera”.

This is still for sale as well.  7.5″ bracelet in pink and white.  Silverplate chain.  The round beads are pretty cool, they’re called “miracle beads” because they are an odd iridescent kind of bead.

Another bracelet, I called it “high tide”.  Greens, blues, turquoise, lime, with a seafoam glass on gold filled chain.

Just a pretty glass picture I took the last time I was at the beach.  And ok, I lied.  My last time there was Oct. 12 or thereabouts.  Still a long gap for me.

I swore these beads were red when I made this.  Turns out they’re more of a reddish orange.  But its still cute.  The black beads are vintage, there is also Swarovski clear crystals on there (the orange are Swarovski too, as are most of the crystals I’ve been using now).

My daughter’s set.  Bracelet and matching earrings.  Hard to tell its a really pretty purple.  My main problem with taking photos is I have only northerly light coming into the room.  Leaves for a dull photo, and flash just makes it worse.

Fall colors.  Lots of browns, rust, burgundy, orange,a little green and cream.  I also started making a different style drop of bead as well. 

And for something completely different… If a guy was bold enough this could be for him as well.  I can’t remember the length of the chain, but it can be extended or shortened I know that.  Maybe I’ll wear this to work tomorrow…

This, I made for myself.  That’s my grandson’s name.  I had found the most beautiful piece of light aqua heart-shaped glass, attached some aquamarine and clear Swarovski crystals to it and the letter cubes!  Love, love, love it!  And, a woman at work liked it so much, she asked if I could make one for her daughter.  Who has a son named Noah.  And was born in March. 

Here is her necklace.  With a white glass heart instead of an aqua.  I only had one aqua heart, and that was for ME!  I’m considering making one for my daughter in law as well.  But I did buy her another pretty necklace from Etsy, so we’ll see.  Maybe for her birthday in January.

Apparently, I didn’t take any photos of the black and orange braclet I made for a coworker.  I’ll have to see if I have any pics of that at work.  But here are some little trees I made.  I will probably make more, and the same person who had me make a necklace for her daughter would like a white pair with blue/aqua crystals… so I’ll probably do that over the weekend.  We’ll see.

I have listed more items on Etsy, mostly vintage stuff I found.  The above trees I’ve listed on a new site I’m trying out, called Shop Hand Made (www.coolerbythelake.shophandmade.com).  I’m beginning to be disenchanted by Etsy.  Well,  I have been for a while now.  I still like it, but there are getting to be way too many “professional” shops out there.  Such as shops from Asia that are selling tons of things way below what an average home-shop can sell for, and now I’ve even heard of designers – clothing for instance – selling there.  Plus, there are even people who if their item hasn’t sold on Ebay, are just transferring the photos over to Etsy and selling it there.  They don’t even bother to re-write the description.  Still says “this auction is for…” and such.  Just not what I want to be in.  Plus there are probably 10,000 shops on there now, if not more.  And it’s swamped with beach glass.  So, we’ll try out this new venue for a while, and I’ll see if that little shop is interested.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

