Skip to content

busy week this last one

August 1, 2010

My friend Jim was visiting from the 20th through the 30th.  Visiting Chicago that is.  I wasn’t able to take any real time off work (too much going on there too), but we met up last Saturday and again this past Wednesday to hang out.

Saturday I took him to Michigan – just over the border is only about 45 minutes away – so we could say he visited three states in one visit!  Had lunch at Stray Dog Bar and Grill so I could get a tshirt from there (front has their name, back says “Sit! Stay!”).  We also stopped at Center Beach which is near Michigan City (IN) and on the way home I showed him how grant money SHOULD be spent:  a stop at the Portage Beach Walk that was just opened last August.  They did a really nice job redoing the beach and building a breakwater walk and reclaiming that land from the steel mills.  Here is a photo of Jim from there:

He’s off center so we could get the Chicago skyline in the back ground.

We also went to Whiting’s annual Pierogi Fest, which is a whole different experience in itself.

On Wed I met him in the city and we went on the river architectural tour

The locks leading in and out of the Chicago River.  Yes, it was a gloomy day, but I think we had a great time in spite of it.  I learn something new about the city every time I go (I grew up in Chicago and worked in the Loop for 10 years).  We had a great tour guide on the boat named Jeremy who was gayer than a blade, young, black with dreadlocks and absolutely hilarious.  I hope if I ever go again I get him as tour guide again.

Jim left Friday evening and the one photo I didn’t take that I’m now kicking myself:  of the two of us.  Jim lives in London and is originally from Scotland, Glasgow area.  We met in a chat room 12 years ago, and although neither of us chat anymore, we’ve kept in touch via email all this time. 

In glassing news…

A recent haul.  Slim pickings out there about now, as it always is in the height of summer around here.  Fall and late summer storms will bring better finds.

The silver piece seems to be a hunk of aluminum.  Which is made in one of the mills I believe. 

Crinoids, above and below

Have more to show… but kids are hungry and expect to eat.  Sheesh.  Kids nowadays.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

