Skip to content

how I drill

April 9, 2010

One of the seaglass/beach glass sites I frequent, there is a discussion group on beach glass drilling.  Some were posting their ideas/solutions along with photos of their workstations.

Since I live in an apartment now, I don’t have a lot of space for a real workstation, I use the dining room table (which my daughter sometimes teases me about!).

Here is my setup.

Originally, I bought this kit: http://www.brainwavestoys.com/rock-driller-c-177-p-1-pr-16531.htm

The surrounding drill press didn’t last long, some electrical thing and for $29 I paid for it (Hobby Lobby), it wasn’t worth trying to fix.  However, the parts that came with it, have been well worth it.  That is what my set up is.

The individual parts that fit together to hold the glass in place.

Fill the container with water…

Put the two pieces together, securing with the wingnuts.  The whitish circles are rubberized so the glass doesn’t slip around.  I don’t tighten the nuts too much though, as I’ve found it may cause too much pressure and cause the glass to crack.  The center hole is what guides your drill bit to the glass and holds it steady for you.  The dremel works very well with this, as long as you make your bit long enough to get through both the guide and the glass.

Glass in between the two pieces.  You then put this part inside the container,

And I put this inside another plastic-ware bowl just in case the water spatters.  Believe me, I’ve ended up very wet several times!  I also put everything on a towel to keep the work surface from getting slippery from the water as I’m adding and removing glass.

My drill.  The least expensive (almost) Dremel available.  This works perfectly well for my needs, and even came with a lot of bits that I have no idea what to do with.  I have to get diamond drill bits for drilling glass.  This last purchase I got from a seller on Etsy.

A drilled hole!  With this holder, you can place the glass anywhere you would like the hole to be drilled.

Since I was demonstrating anyway, I went ahead and made a pair of earrings for my friend’s future daughter in law.  Their wedding is May 1, and her dress is green and ivory.  I’ve used green glass, vintage ivory pearls that were taken from another necklace and Swarovsky Crystals beads.  The seed beads are also vintage.

I’ll also be making a necklace to go with these.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

