Skip to content

PWS

March 22, 2010

The Pampered Woman Show…

It was ok.  A woman I know who has been doing this for 8 years said this year was slower than normal.  Could have been a few reasons: economy, bad weather on Saturday or the fact the Shipshewana on the Road show was also going on.

I only made about $30, and if you subtract the booth fee of $90… well, you get the picture.

However I think it will end up being a good thing.  I received an email last night from another booth, who happens to own a shop in our downtown area called It’s Just Serendipity.  They sell vintage items and work of local artists (from what I understand, I’ve never been in there yet. Keep meaning to).  She asked me to give her a call to set up an appointment to speak with them about my items.  They had stopped by my booth and liked what they saw.  We’ll see how it works out!

This is how my booth looked (although I rearranged things, changed display stuff and basically kept moving things around all weekend)

Yes, the venue is really blah.  Leaves a lot to be desired.

Close ups:

I took down the pink thing, it wasn’t full anyway, and distributed the other things over other areas of the table.

And here is some of the rest of the show:

114 tables/booths were sold.

I made this yesterday morning.  I was “fixing” it on Friday night and accidently cut the string.  Then left my tools at the show on Saturday so I had to finish it on Sunday.  I also embellished it a little more.

I have “illusions” necklaces in green and brown but they don’t have any kind of other embellishments.  I think I will make more with some seed beads possibly.

The ladies to the right of me were an inspiration.  Big recyclers themselves, their business is called Gypsy Boutique and they sell some jewelry but mainly New Age items and clothes for belly dancing (she is a belly dancing instructor, how cool is that?).  But we were discussing the claws and I decided to do this:

Some may remember that I’ve already sold two of these “claw” pins lol.

And here is something I purchased from the Gypsy Lady’s (her name was Helen) daughter:

Is that cool or what?  And yes, it is gross, but I like that kind of thing.  This is a horseshoe crab fossil.  The only damage on him at all is one claw missing, and maybe one or two of those spiny things along the bottom.  I think I’ll hang it up somewhere.

Here are a couple of my display pieces close up:

oh yea, another new thing I made.  I bought the mirror quite a while ago and just did the design on it last week.

Its actually a mirror from Ikea.  And given the quality and the fact I found it at Village Discount, I’m not sure what all the fuss is about Ikea stuff.  But whatever, it served my purpose!

not sure why this last photo came out so much bigger…

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 23, 2010 3:53 pm

    Sorry you didn’t make a lot of money vs. the cost of the booth space. but good luck with speaking to that other vendor and possibly having some of your items in their store. I think you are so talented and it is just a matter of time before you start selling in a big way.

Leave a Reply

