Skip to content

new ideas and plans

February 25, 2010

After seeing some ideas on Etsy and researching the processes, I decided I’m going to try felting beads. I went to the thrift shop near me and bought several wool sweaters in various colors and have started taking them apart to work with.

I also found some instructions online for making paper beads. I’m going to try this too.  The things you find when you’re looking for something in particular!

I think the combination of my glass with the felted or paper beads is really going to be a cool contrast. Softness and lightness with the hardness of the glass. I hope things come out the way I’m envisioning them! I get so antsy when I’m at work and wanting to do so much at home with my designs.

I’ve also been on the lookout for old jewelry that can be reused. My aim – except for the jewelry findings themselves (bails, chains, etc) – is to use only recycled items for my jewelry. Last night I took apart probably 3-4 necklaces and I don’t know how many pairs of old earrings. You know the kind, one earring missing, or some rhinestones missing from an earring. I have all sizes of vintage rhinestones now that I can use.

Now it’s just finding the time to do it all!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

