Skip to content

Wow

December 30, 2009

I haven’t updated in forever.  I’ve done quite a few more frames, and a few more jewelry pieces.  Everything I have for sale can be viewed at my Etsy site:  www.lakeeffectglass.etsy.com Etsy is an awesome place to not only sell, but to shop for wonderful one-of-a-kind handmade items and vintage stuff.

I need to take lots more pictures of just some of the great glass I have, but here’s a few things:

Here is one of the first things I created.  I call it “Born on the 4th of July”, because I was.  I made it for myself for my birthday.  One of the few red and blue pieces of glasses I own, along with a common white piece and a silver star.  I’m still not very good at wire wrapping, but I’d like to learn more so am looking into that.

Here are a few other items I’ve created:

I love how this came out!  I hand-etched the green glass with stars and used old Scrabble tiles to create the words “My Hero”.  I also added a piece of smooth safety glass I found at Whihala as my symbol of the inner strength most heroes possess.

This frame was unusual as far as shadow box frames go (I love shadow box frames!).  The photo is held in place with a clip and the backing is a bamboo-like material – no idea if it’s real bamboo or not, but I thought it was a great backdrop for beach materials!  The green glass right under the photo is etched with a sand dollar motif.

I also created quite a few of these.  Christmas ornaments that one customer called “the most beachfront property I’ll ever own”!  I add sand from the beaches in my area, a few pieces of beach glass and small shells and some iridescent plastic snowflakes.  This particular one I chemically etched with an “H” and can make them with almost any letter.

Here is another jewelry piece I created, with the intent to sell it, but am falling in love with it myself:

This piece has two pieces of white glass, center drilled by me, with two little seed pearls on either end, and a rhinestone circle bead in the center.  As you can see, it looks great against a black top.

And just because, here’s a photo of my favorite beach:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Annette permalink
    January 3, 2010 4:18 am

    Good points, I think I will definitely subscribe!🙂. I’ll go and read some more!

  2. January 28, 2010 11:06 pm

    Do you have a web feed I can save? I searched around but could not

Leave a Reply

